PWPSD nominates Mckenna Wolstenholme for Edwin Parr Teachers Award

Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWPSD) is pleased to announce Ms. Mckenna Wolstenholme as its 2022 Edwin Parr Award nominee. Ms. Wolstenholme, who teaches Grade 1 at Whispering Ridge Community School (WRCS), says she is honoured to be nominated for the award.

Ms. Wolstenholme, a Peace Wapiti Academy alumna, graduated with her Bachelor of Education from the University of Alberta in 2021. She began teaching at WRCS shortly after the Grade 1 classroom was destroyed by a fire. Her teaching career began from the basement of the Alliance Church, where she created a warm and welcoming environment for all her students. She says moving into her permanent classroom at WRCS part-way through the school year, while teaching a class full of students each day, quickly taught her the importance of flexibility and adaptability.

“I have been so fortunate to be surrounded by such encouraging and welcoming grade partners, as well as our administrative team. I could not think of a better way to start off a career as a beginning teacher!” Ms. Wolstenholme says her favourite part of joining the WRCS team has been the relationships she’s been able to form within the school community. “I feel so privileged to get to come to work every day and connect with such amazing students, parents, and staff members.”

The Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA)’s Edwin Parr Teacher Awards recognize excellent first year teachers across the province. As PWPSD’s nominee, Ms. Wolstenholme will be recognized at the ASBA Zone 1 meeting where the zone selection committee will consider her for the award. Each year, only six teachers throughout Alberta are awarded the Edwin Parr Teacher Award.